Home / Board of Directors

Board of Directors

2019 – 2020
Shelter House Board of Directors

Board members play a critical role in being active, vocal, and visible advocates for the advancement of our mission to provide safe shelter and help people improve the quality of their lives as they move beyond homelessness.

They have a fiduciary responsibility “to steer the organization towards a sustainable future by adopting sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies, as well as making sure the nonprofit has adequate resources to advance its mission.” – The National Council of Nonprofits (2016)


Charles Bermingham, President
University of Iowa, College of Education

Dan Bailey, Vice President
Private Banking Operations Officer
MidWestOne Bank

Scott Enyart, CIC, AIC, Treasurer
AW Welt Ambrisco Insurance, Inc.

Mary Beth Ross, Secretary
Community Volunteer
School Psychologist

Carrie Z. Norton, Past Board President
Community Volunteer
Education Consultant

Bruce Clark
Veteran & Community Volunteer
U.S. Army

Ed Cole
Cole’s Community Mobile Home Park

Tim Conroy
Blank & McCune

Jeffery Ford
Community Volunteer
Methodist Minister & Nonprofit Executive

Nana Hawa Sa-Aadu
Senior Software Test Analyst

Phil O’Brien
Urban Acres

Carrie Schuettpelz
University of Iowa, Department of Rhetoric

Steve Schornhorst
Community Volunteer
Construction and Facilities Management

Dottie Persson
Community Volunteer
University of Iowa Libraries

Janice Weiner
Foreign Affairs Professional

Jennifer Yi Boyer
Chief Talent Officer